Monday, April 6, 2009
March Madness
March Madness is over as of tonight. I need to be done class as soon as possible so I can bomb over to a friends for supper and the madness in HD!! should be stellar.
Friday, March 27, 2009
Beat Up in Boston
So I was able to get over to my friends house tonight to watch some NCAA basketball. It was Duke and Villanova in HD. The TD Banknorth Garden was the site. Anne was there, and Lindsay from across the street too. They knew I'm a big Duke fan, and might have just been there for the sheer entertainment value of watching me watch the game on TV.
This started out good! 5-0 run, as Lance Thomas scored an easy basket while being fouled and Kyle Singler knocked down a 3. As far as Duke highlights, those were them. Villanova answered with an 11-0 run, during which time I was unaware that Anne had started her Skype with her boyfriend who was also watching me on the webcam. He got a good laugh when i sprinted out of my seat toward the TV on a block call against Duke that clearly should have been a offensive foul. I finally figured out I was on camera. I should have known to watch for the little green light on her macbook: rookie mistake.

By halftime we were down three, it was 26-23. I thought that was not bad seeing we were 1 for 7 from the three point line and were getting out rebounded in dramatic fashion. Coach K would go in and tune the boys in and we would come out flying, hitting the three point shots in a furious fashion as I would cheer on my team. I found this to me merely a dream instead of a prophecy.
Next thing I know, we're down 10... then 15... then 20... The game ended at 77-54 in favour of the Villanova Wildcats out of Philadelphia. Another year of disappointment brought by a jump shooting Duke team without a dominant low post presence.
Here's some final stats from my boys of disappointment: 16/60 (27%) on shots; 5/27 (19%) from the three point line; out rebounded 46-32; and our top 3 scorers who combine for an average of 48 ppg put up a meas
ly 35 points. Not bad you say? Well lets consider that these three players were 9/35 (26%) from the field and 4/21 (19%) from the three point line. This was from guys who shoot a combined 37% from the three point line. If we hit those shots, we score an extra 21 points and puts us 2 points behind. A close game changes the entire dynamic, making the game go either way.
So by boys lost and my bracket is busted (as Memphis lost to Missouri 102-91). On the bright side I got up at a decent time and did my essay this morning! If I would have known more about plagiarism in the past, I might be a different man today... haha...
This started out good! 5-0 run, as Lance Thomas scored an easy basket while being fouled and Kyle Singler knocked down a 3. As far as Duke highlights, those were them. Villanova answered with an 11-0 run, during which time I was unaware that Anne had started her Skype with her boyfriend who was also watching me on the webcam. He got a good laugh when i sprinted out of my seat toward the TV on a block call against Duke that clearly should have been a offensive foul. I finally figured out I was on camera. I should have known to watch for the little green light on her macbook: rookie mistake.

By halftime we were down three, it was 26-23. I thought that was not bad seeing we were 1 for 7 from the three point line and were getting out rebounded in dramatic fashion. Coach K would go in and tune the boys in and we would come out flying, hitting the three point shots in a furious fashion as I would cheer on my team. I found this to me merely a dream instead of a prophecy.
Next thing I know, we're down 10... then 15... then 20... The game ended at 77-54 in favour of the Villanova Wildcats out of Philadelphia. Another year of disappointment brought by a jump shooting Duke team without a dominant low post presence.
Here's some final stats from my boys of disappointment: 16/60 (27%) on shots; 5/27 (19%) from the three point line; out rebounded 46-32; and our top 3 scorers who combine for an average of 48 ppg put up a meas
ly 35 points. Not bad you say? Well lets consider that these three players were 9/35 (26%) from the field and 4/21 (19%) from the three point line. This was from guys who shoot a combined 37% from the three point line. If we hit those shots, we score an extra 21 points and puts us 2 points behind. A close game changes the entire dynamic, making the game go either way.So by boys lost and my bracket is busted (as Memphis lost to Missouri 102-91). On the bright side I got up at a decent time and did my essay this morning! If I would have known more about plagiarism in the past, I might be a different man today... haha...
Thursday, March 19, 2009
Flying Penguins

8-0-2 in the last 10. Sweet. The Penguins are back in it, moving up the standings to where they should be. Crosby is putting up the points, and Gino Malkin is living up to his name. Tuesday night against the Thrashers, as seen in the ECMM 402.3 with special guest Jay Wilson highlight session, Malkin put up 2 goals and 3 assists in a 6-2 win. Malkin missed an opportunity to turn the trick when former Penguins Johan Hedberg turned him aside on a penalty shot late in the 3rd period.
Many will point to Malkin as the driver of the team. Some will look to Captain Crosby, or the return of ice-hog Sergei Gonchar, but the real change seems to have come with the acquisition of Chris Kunitz. Kunitz was acquired near the deadline, 10 games ago. As mentioned, Pittsburgh is 8-0-2 in the last 10, with the two loses being in the shootout. When we got him, I said Chris who? I had forgot how he helped the Ducks in their cup run. He may not be the best player on the star laden Penguins, but he's been the spark to get this fire going.
Oh and p.s. I'm enjoying my weekend by watching March Madness, and 15 Cal-State Northridge (tournament ranks them at #60) is giving 2 Memphis (#5 in NCAA polls) a run for their money. My bracket has Memphis losing the national championship to North Carolina. Memphis is tied with 11 mins left in the game! Anything can happen, this is March Madness!
Wednesday, March 11, 2009
Lost
So I'm writing my blog since I can't get into moodle, so now I'm totally lost! Is it just me? Must be. With dreamweaver, I found myself on the only computer without it. Now that I have dreamweaver on my computer, things should be alright.... on a lighter note...
Penguins!! 7 game winning streak now. A great game last night against overrated Jay Baumeester and the Florida Panthers. A hard faught win in OT allowed the Pens to leapfrog Florida into the 6th spot in the east. Malkin led the way, including a goal and the beauty shootout winner. Go Pens Go!
Penguins!! 7 game winning streak now. A great game last night against overrated Jay Baumeester and the Florida Panthers. A hard faught win in OT allowed the Pens to leapfrog Florida into the 6th spot in the east. Malkin led the way, including a goal and the beauty shootout winner. Go Pens Go!
Wednesday, March 4, 2009
A Four Day Weekend extended...?
So I had no 470 today... that extended the weekend, well by 2 hrs...
So I watched trade center! Yes, my Penguins got Bill Guerin. I never really liked the guy, but hopefully he'll be a good fit. I don't really like American players, especially since the 1996 World Cup of Hockey where those losers somehow beat us. But maybe I'll warm up to old Bill. When Crosby gets back, we're going to be a legitimate cup contender again this year. Bill Guerin isn't the player Marion Hossa is (and I'm still angry with him), but I think we can get back and maybe win one this time. Malkin... Crosby... Sykora... Guerin... Kunitz (no laughing)... Gonchar is back... Staal... and the good old former Melfort Mustang, Ruslan Fedotenko, should help get us back to the Finals with a better result.
So I watched trade center! Yes, my Penguins got Bill Guerin. I never really liked the guy, but hopefully he'll be a good fit. I don't really like American players, especially since the 1996 World Cup of Hockey where those losers somehow beat us. But maybe I'll warm up to old Bill. When Crosby gets back, we're going to be a legitimate cup contender again this year. Bill Guerin isn't the player Marion Hossa is (and I'm still angry with him), but I think we can get back and maybe win one this time. Malkin... Crosby... Sykora... Guerin... Kunitz (no laughing)... Gonchar is back... Staal... and the good old former Melfort Mustang, Ruslan Fedotenko, should help get us back to the Finals with a better result.
Wednesday, February 25, 2009
random ramble
so i'm writing during class since i'm killing two birds with one stone. ok so here's the complaint of the day. profs getting mad at people who are on their laptop instead of listening to them. they are the obvious non-listeners ... so they get picked on. well... i likely learned more in my ed admin class today than most, but yet i was called out in front of 100 people for watching videos on my computer instead of giving my undivided attention to him. he says, "what i'm saying here is really important blah blah blah..." and i'm thinking... the power has gone to his head. he has a whole classful of people with minds wandering, and yet just cause i'm the obvious one not watching (and i blame harbidge for watching them too and making it obvious). maybe he should just check the exam and see how i dominate his class, while paying computer games all year during his lectures without doing the readings, instead of calling out his best student who has an overactive mind and can do two things at once. anyways... back to webquests...
Monday, February 23, 2009
wikipedia 2
I made some additions to the hottest new page on wikipedia, "Kevin shmyr." I put in the links to other wikipedia pages, and added some references. Lets all keep the Kevin shmyr dream alive on wikipedia.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)